Hannah and Je together

Wednesday, 6 April 2016

Waiting in government office

I went to Social Security Office in Jackson, Chicago downtown.  They open at 9, and I’ve got there at 9:18.  There were some people, and I got my queue number.

I expected to wait fifteen to twenty minutes.  But I waited about two hours.  As time went by, more people came in and the waiting area was filled.  But they closed a few windows.  I could not understand, because they should have opened more.

I told this to many of my American friends, and no one–literally nobody–was stunned or surprised.  US government is always above my expectation.  When I expect twenty minutes, they make it two hours.

오늘 시카고 다운타운의 잭슨거리에 있는 사회보장 사무소(연방정부)에 갔다.  9시에 문을 여는데, 내가 도착한 건 9시 18분이었다.  일단 번호표를 뽑았다.

사람들이 몇몇 있길래 한 15분에서 20분 정도 기다리면 되겠다 싶었다.  하지만 거의 2시간 가까이 기다렸다.  시간이 흐를 수록 사람들이 더 왔고 대기실이 거의 찼다.  그런데 창구를 몇개 닫는 것이었다.  도저히 이해할 수가 없었다.  창구를 더 열어야 하는 거 아닌가?

미국인 친구들에게 이 얘기를 했는데, 아무도 정말 단 한 사람도 놀라지 않는다.  미국 정부는 진실로 늘 나의 기대 이상이다.  내가 20분을 기대하면 2시간으로 만들어 버린다.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

