Hannah and Je together

Tuesday, 8 March 2016

Swearing for Citizenship

When I became US Citizen, I took an oath at USCIS building.  The employees of USCIS were continuously mentioning it as ‘swearing,’ so I made a joke to break the ice because everybody were quite nervous there to be citizens of new country.

“When we swear today, which word do we use? D-word, S-word, or even F-word?” I joked to one of the officer.  It was worst mistake ever.  No single one surround me understood what I meant and joked about, and the USCIS employees understood and offended a lot.  They did not answer me, but I saw the smiles disappear from their faces, and they looked angry.  Please somebody shut me up.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

