Hannah and Je together

Friday, 26 February 2016

Delta Airline

I had a church related conference at Atlanta, GA this week, and I flew there from Chicago last Sunday.  I had one bag which I did not check it because I had to pay $25.  Delta has no free check-in baggage.  While boarding, a Delta employee told me “You have to check in the baggage.”  It was because they did not enough room in the cabin.  Her word hurt my feeling.  Can’t she say it nicer?  Such as “Sir, we are suffering from lack of storage room in the cabin.  Could you please check your baggage in?  We’ll do that free for you.”  She said it like ordering and used “HAVE TO.”  Flight itself was OK.  The flight attendants were not mean and not kind, just normal.

I was supposed to fly back on Wednesday afternoon, and I’ve got a message that my flight to Midway was cancelled.  It was because of the Chicago weather which is NOT their responsibility.

But I went to the airport two hours earlier than my original flight (which is normal) and asked the ticketing desk to get me another flight.  At the very moment I told the lady that my flight was cancelled, her countenance and face changed badly as if she stepped on a shit.  She was very rude.  Even though I understand that she had hundreds of customers asking the same thing, she should not be like that.  She is paid to deal with the unhappy customers, so she must be professional.

She told me there is nothing she can do, so I just have to go.  I explained to her why I should go back to Chicago that same day.  While I was speaking, she cut me and said that she would call the police if I continue saying it.  I was stunned because I was NOT yelling or anything like that.  I was just asking and explaining (well, I was not smiling nor happy).  Eventually I’ve got another ticket to Chicago O’Hare because all the flight to Chicago Midway were cancelled.

As the response to her threat to me of calling the police and her extreme rudeness and unkindness, I sarcastically said to her that Delta’s customer service was awesome.  And she said the last word at the back of my head, “Don’t fly with Delta then.”

I could not even believe my ears and what I just heard.  Maybe she just thinks I am nothing but one of many customers having no power.  She is right.  I am just one of many customers.  She may feel that Delta is so great and powerful.  She might have felt that way working at Atlanta airport, the home of Delta.  There is nothing I can do but to complaining on my blog.

After the security check, I wanted to complain about my experience being so angry.  I asked some of the Delta employees how to complain.  They were all directing me, “I don’t know.  You may go that place and ask there.”  I was directed like five times.  And finally I went to a huge booth with a lot of phones, maybe customer service place.  I asked a gentleman standing in front of that place how I could complain.  He answered me I cannot.  I asked him again if I could complain over one of the phones there.  He said those phones are directly connected to reservation and booking department and said, “We do not take complaints.”  I thought again that Delta is so amazing.

The replaced flight was also significantly delayed, and I was just told that there is nothing I can do but to wait.  I was also told that even that delayed flight had 50% chance to be cancelled and they suggested me to go to hotel and rest the day, and fly the next day.  I asked them if they would pay the hotel, and they said no.  According to the schedule of the delayed flight, I would arrive at Chicago O’Hare after midnight when the public transportation is not available, which means taxi would be the only option for me.  I asked them if Delta would pay for the taxi because it is the extra cost caused by delay of the flight, and they said no.

So I waited nine hours and forty minutes.  Eventually the plane came at 11:40pm.  Before the boarding, Delta provided us some snacks, which was actually nice and that eased my anger a bit.  The flight attendants were very kind this time.  A lady told me that they were off that day but came to work because of us, “I feel so sorry for y’all.”  Actually that is the way should be.  The other Delta employees at Atlanta airport should have even pretend that they are sorry even though they were not actually and were just sick and tired of damn customers.

One of the Delta employee told me not to fly with Delta, so I will take her advice.  It was my first Delta experience and was so bad.  I usually fly with United.  United is not bad and not good, they are just average, but at least I do not have any horrible experience with them (yet).

The best air lines which I ever experienced was West Jet.  Even once when I was feeling shitty, I felt much better after flying with West Jet.

So, all my friends, which air lines should you avoid?  Delta, it is.

1 Comment »

  1. Yes it is so aggravating to have bad customer service. Once my TD bank rep told me to go bank elsewhere if I didn’t like their fees. So I did and went to a credit union where there are no fees! Thank-you for your compliment about Westjet. My daughter is a customer service agent at Westjet. I agree they are an awesome company!

    Comment by joeyluvslulu — Friday, 26 February 2016 @ 23:00 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

