Hannah and Je together

Saturday, 20 February 2016

Cash Only

Last January while I was attending APCE conference in downtown Chicago, I was on my way from the hotel to nearby shopping mall food court for lunch because hotel restaurant is expensive.  And a guy asked me for help.  So I told him back what I could do for him.  He said he was hungry.  I said to him,

“Oh good timing.  I am on my way to eat lunch.  Please come with me, I’ll buy you a lunch.”

“No, that’s OK.  Can you just give me cash?”

“Well, sorry.  I do not carry cash.  I use only credit card.  But I can definitely buy you a lunch.”

And he finally told me: “There’s ATM right next building.  You can get some cash for me.”

I was so shocked about what he said, and of course I refused: “Sorry.  That’s too much.”

When I was in Canada, I used to spare some coins or gave some money on the streets to the pan-handlers, and I saw couple times that they were buying alcohols and tobaccos with “MY” money.  Since then, I made it my rule not to give cash even when they want “CASH ONLY.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

