Hannah and Je together

Wednesday, 24 June 2015

[US Trip]Florida Trip for 10 days

Before I began my CPE this summer, I went to Florida trip with my wife, her sister, and her mother. Usually I write travel blog day by day, but now I am so lazy with CPE, and I am going to summarise the entire ten day trip in one blog posting.

I drove the whole time except two hours which my sister-in-law drove.  After 22 hours’ driving, we went to Siesta Beach first.  It was really long drive.  But because I drove overnight, we did not have traffic.

Welcome to Florida

Siesta Beach has very fine and white sands.  We had quite good time but we had to left because of sudden shower.  Then we headed to Naples, and stayed at Red Roof Plus.  Naples is very neat and nice town.  On Sunday morning, we went to First Presbyterian Church of Naples.  This is quite huge church, and very typical Presbyterian church with all rich white senior citizens.  Naples also has very nice beach.  We watched sunset at Naples Pier.

Miami Jet Boat

After we stayed there couple days, we headed to Miami.  The first thing we did was Jet Boat.  It was quite of fun and thrill.  It was also nice that they showed and explained about the beautiful and e expensive mansions.  We actually stayed at Miami Beach, and we had big trouble finding parking.  We stayed Ocean Reef Hotel, and its location is awesome.  You can walk everywhere.  To the beach, it is just one block away.  To the most famous Lincoln Mall, it is just about four blocks.

The next day, we drove all the way down to the Key West.  The garden was beautiful, but we were not able to enjoy the beach a lot because of the strong wind.

Miami Beach-Danny

We enjoyed the Miami beach a lot.  And I met Danny Morales, my classmates from McCormick Theological Seminary.  He just graduated last May.  He is from Miami with Cuban heritage.  He introduced us the legit cuban dish which I like a lot.  Danny gave me many positive influences, and he speaks Spanish beautifully. 🙂

MIami Starfish

Couple days later, he left Miami Beach and we went to Hollywood Beach where we enjoyed Surrey.  But the store manager was not nice.  The picture above is actually at Miami beach.  I saw a boy catching the starfish, and I tried.  Hannah was not able even to touch the starfish.  Later another lady picked it up again, but she took it by its leg, and the starfish cut its leg to flee.  She, then, picked another leg, and it cut its another leg as well.  So she had it cut its four legs.  My poor starfish.

Then we went to Cocoa beach.  We had some tour of swimming with dolphins and manatees.  There were not a lot of them, but we were able to see some of them.  And even a manatee touched my leg!  And we also watched a sunrise at the Cocoa Beach pier.

Friday, Hannah’s sister had to leave so we drove her to the Orlando airport.  And I realised that there are crazy many tolls around Orlando.  We enjoyed another night and we left there on Saturday morning.

Kentucky

Rather than going back home at once as I did on the way from home to Florida, we stopped at Kentucky.  For Sunday morning service, I went to Highland Presbyterian church where McCormick’s ex-president is senior pastor, but she was on her vacation.

We met Jieun, whom I call big sister.  I met her at PCUSA racial ethnic conference last year.  She is real nice lady, her husband is also very gentle.  They are one of the best Korean couple.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

