Hannah and Je together

Thursday, 9 January 2014

Israel Trip First and Second Day: Flight

As part of school course, I took Israel Trip in this J-term. Its departure was from O’Hare Airport at Chicago Wednesday 8th of January, 2014.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Lufthansa – German Engineering

It was my first time using Lufthansa. It was good overall and I noticed that the flight attendants are healthier than other airlines, and they smile less.

Waiting for the flight. I was lively at that moment.

Waiting for the flight. I was lively at that moment.

After the two painful flights, I realised that the flight is the worst part of the good trip. But if I think about how much time I can save and how safe it is than in older days when people travelled by ships, I am so thankful about the painful flights.

The plane from Chicago, USA to Frankfurt, Germany was so big with ten seats on a row and it is even double-decker. Ten seats on one row means only two can have window view while other 80% of the passengers cannot see outside. And Lufthansa did something for the poor 80% passengers.

Window view for everyone

Window view for everyone

On the personal screen, you can see the window view as if you are on the window seat. The only thing not right was that it showed daytime view when we flew during the night. And by the screen there was a button.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERASANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

And it even comes out like the shown picture above. I had no idea what that is for. I discussed with my classmates sitting next to me. I spent hours in vain to figure it out. Finally I asked a flight attendant, and she said it is for coat hanger! We were all shocked and said that it is true German Engineering which Americans can never understand.

Meal on the way to Frankfurt

Meal on the way to Frankfurt

The flight is painful, mostly because of the insufficient leg room. But what makes it better is of course food. The meals were very good overall. They asked me if I wanted vegetarian meal and I answered that I wanted predator’s meal, and I’ve got chicken.

Frankfurt Tram

Frankfurt Tram

We landed on Frankfurt on time. And we walked a lot to gate C13. We walked, walked, and walked. Then we got on the tram to another terminal. And after the tram, again we walked, walked and walked.

What was impressive to me was smoking zones – glass boxes. And I went into a rest room and found the manager’s picture for that rest room.

The one in charge of the rest room

The one in charge of the rest room

The gate C13 is dedicated to the planes whose destination is Israel. I always thought the American Airport security check is the worst in the world, but Frankfurt gate C13 security check is even worse than any American airport. Professor Ted said that it is because the planes are going to Israel. Other gates whose planes are going another places, the security checks are not like that. This one reminded me the special (in good and bad aspect) situations of Israel.

Frankfurt gate C13 after the security check

Frankfurt gate C13 after the security check

The plane to Israel was delayed about an hour. So we waited a bit. I think it was kind of nothing. On January 1st, my niece waited six more hours at O’Hare Airport in Chicago.

Walking on the cloud

Walking on the cloud

In the plane, I was sitting next to a Jewish guy. He is very kind and nice even though he was wearing all black and hats. A big hat, and another small one inside, called Kipa (כיפה). He explained that kipa has many different colours and patterns and that means something, like dark black is orthodox Jewish.We talked a lot during the flight. He strongly suggested me to visit Masada. He also taught me Toda Adonai (תודה אדון) which means Thank (you) Lord. One interesting thing was that he distinguished strictly between the religious Jewish and secular Jewish.

Finally ארץ ישראל (Land of Israel)

Finally ארץ ישראל (Land of Israel)

Finally I saw the Land of Israel with the Mediterranean sea. I was goose bumped and thrilled just to see it down from the sky.

Cute Village near Tel Aviv

Cute Village near Tel Aviv

And finally we landed on Ben Gurion Airport in Tel Aviv. It was very nice airport, probably better than most Airports in America.

Ben Gurion Airport in Tel Aviv, Israel

Ben Gurion Airport in Tel Aviv, Israel

Before the trip I was told, the immigration may stamp on separated paper in case I ask for. It was necessary for those who want to travel to other surrounding countries after Israel because those countries will not let you in when they find the Israeli stamp on your passport. So I asked for it just in case, and they replied that they do not stamp any more, instead, they gave me a bar code.

With Ted Hiebert

With Ted Hiebert next to the bus

Ted Hiebert is the leading professor for this trip with his wife Paula. He is the OT professor at McCormick Theological Seminary, and one of the greatest OT scholar of our times, and the translator of Genesis for Common English Bible. He recently promoted to the position of Vice President at McCormick Theological Seminary in Chicago.

The Bus was very good. It even provides free Wi-Fi.

This Bus is so good.

This Bus is so good.

We went from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem by this nice bus, and checked in White Sisters Guesthouse in Palestinian area of Jerusalem. After check-in, some of us walked outside along the Wall of Old City where the Gate to Damascus is. This gate is very probably St. Paul stepped out when he began his journey to arrest Christians. Not the same exact gate, but the gate at the same place.

Notre Dame Cathedral

Notre Dame Cathedral

After we saw the Notre Dame Cathedral, we went back to the Guesthouse and had dinner.

Dinner at Guesthouse

Dinner at Guesthouse

This was just the humble beginning of the glorious meal.

1 Comment »

  1. Thank you James for the lovely pictures and story of your trip.

    Comment by Marlene Ferris Corbett — Tuesday, 28 January 2014 @ 13:17 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

