Hannah and Je together

Wednesday, 2 May 2012

Church Tour: Calvary Church in Naperville, IL

My wife Hannah and I decided to tour some churches around us – far and near. Every other Sunday, we will go to new church and post some comments about the church.

This time, our first Church, is Calvary Church in Naperville, Illinois.

First, I forgot to carry my camera so I have no pictures, but if you go to the church website, you can see hundreds of pictures – better pictures than mine.

This is huge, really huge church. If you are first time visitor, you may get lost inside the building. That is why they provide an inside building map. Several thousands of people attend the worship service, and they have three worship services for the convenience of the people. They also have ethnic or language group like Spanish (or Hispanic) Group where they have five or six hundred members.

One thing that seized my eyes were Wiggle Giggle Room for babies and little kids. It looks like small theme park for kids and babies – literally WOW! They also have school and pre-school too.

I was at the church which was the fifth Sunday of April, and I forgot the name, but they have another offering on every fifth Sunday of the month which goes to help the people in need like for food or hospital service. I think that is very nice. In my experience in Korea, usually big and huge churches are very greedy, not helping the people. And this kind of offering and helping people at Calvary Church definitely looks good to me, and probably to the Lord, too.

And I was also lucky that last Sunday they had new comer’s lunch where my wife and I got free food! The chicken was very tasty, my wife like it so much that she mentioned the food a few more times to me. And because the Church is huge, they have many pastors.

The Church is musically very very good. I like the songs and music at the service.

At this Church, you will not find any programme – the order of service. The service looked quite free which I have to adjust myself. The senior (or main pastor – what should I mention him?) pastor made very good sermon which my wife liked very much. And he made many good points from the Bible (he was on a serious about Jacob in Genesis), and he also made all the people laugh many times.

Calvary Church is very well organised and they have so many small and mid-size groups. I think there are so many things I have to learn from this Church. My wife and I will go back surely someday.

Calvary Church Information:

Address: 9s200 State Route 59, Naperville, Illinois 60564

Phone: 630-851-7000

Website: http://www.calvarynaperville.org/

Another website: http://www.calvaryweb.org/

한나와 함께 격주로 교회 순방을 다니기로 했다. 가끔은 먼 곳에 가끔은 가까운 곳에 가게 될 것이다. 이번에는 네이퍼빌에 있는 갈보리 교회에 갔다.

먼저, 사진기를 깜박 잊은 관계로 사진을 하나도 못 찍었지만, 교회 웹사이트에 가보면 내가 찍은 것보다 훨씬 좋은 사진들이 많이 있다.

이 교회는 정말 거대하다. 처음 가보는 사람은 건물 내에서 길을 잃을 지경이다. 그래서 건물 내부 지도를 나눠준다. 예배에는 수천명이 참여를 하고, 예배도 세 번 있다. 남미 사람들이 약 오륙백명 모이는 그룹들도 있다.

내 눈을 사로잡은 것은 Wiggle Giggle 룸이라고 하는 곳인데, 아이들이나 아기들을 예배중에 놀게하고 돌보는 곳이다. 그런데 마치 작은 놀이동산처럼 꾸며놨다. 그냥 와!라는 말이 절로 나온다. 그리고 아마 초등학교도 있는 것 같고 유치원도 운영을 하는 듯 하다.

사월 다섯째 주인 지난 주에 갔는데, 헌금 이름은 잊어버렸는데, 다섯번째 주가 있는 달에는 그 주에 헌금을 따로 해서 음식이나 병원비를 감당하지 못하는 사람들에게 나눠주고 도와준다고 한다. 한국에서 볼때 대형 교회들은 탐욕스럽게 그지없었는데, 헌금을 따로 걷어서 어려운 사람을 돕는 게 참 좋아보였다. 예수님도 좋게 보실 듯.

또한 지난 주는 새로온 사람 점심이 있었는데, 닭고기 정말 맛좋았다. 한나가 몇번이나 얘기할 정도! 그리고 교회가 커서 목사님들도 여러분 계셨다.

교회가 상당히 음악적이었고 노래와 예배의 음악들이 모두 좋았다.

교회에서는 순서지(보통 주보라고 부르는)를 나눠주지 않고 예배 자체도 상당히 자유로운 듯 했다. 당회장 또는 담임 목사님은 설교를 잘 해서 한나가 꽤 좋아했다. 현재 창세기의 야곱에 대해 하고 있는 듯 한데, 성경에서 몇가지를 잘 찝어주는 편이고 꽤 여러번 사람들을 웃겼다.

갈보리 교회는 상당히 조직적으로 잘 짜여져 있어 보였다. 많은 소그룹들과 모임들이 있었다. 이 교회에서는 배울 것이 많이 있는 듯 보였다. 한나와 함께 나중에 또 와야할 것 같다.

교회 정보:

주소: 9s200 State Route 59, Naperville, Illinois 60564

전화번호: 630-851-7000

웹사이트: http://www.calvarynaperville.org/ (경고 – 영어임)

또 다른 웹사이트: http://www.calvaryweb.org/ (경고 – 영어임)

1 Comment »

  1. […] Church Tour: Calvary Church in Naperville, IL (crinje.wordpress.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterPrintStumbleUponDiggEmailRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Leave a Comment […]

    Pingback by Church Tour: Community Christian Church, Yellowbox « Hannah and Je together — Saturday, 19 May 2012 @ 22:42 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

