Hannah and Je together

Wednesday, 1 September 2010

LPGA in Winnipeg

Last weekend, the LPGA game was held in Winnipeg which stands for Ladies Professional Golf Association.

It was quite close to my home – St. Charles Country Club. So I went there last day. The admission fee was just $30 which is quite reasonable and cheap.

I watched the pro-golfers playing. I realised why we call them professional. It was way different. Among all players, personally I liked Seri Pak and Jiyai Shin most.

Seri Pak was (and is to me even now) the legendary lady golf player who gave the whole people in South Korea hope and pleasure when all of them were in bad and hard situation. But she did not have not much gallery last weekend as she used to have.

I clapped my hands loudly as she shot and she heard and turned her face to me to see who was clapping. 🙂

I also cheered some other Korean players including Bae.

The last team was Michelle Wie and Jiyai Shin. Both were bests, but Wie won the game finally.

When they came to the final hole, everybody were clapping standing. And I shouted Shin’s name loudly, and she saw me. 🙂

It was quite great game. Their balls flew just like bullets. Wow, I have no other words but wow.

For now, the LPGA site says Shin is top of the rank with the money of $1,400,296.00.

The only bad thing was mosquitoes. The players could not concentrate on their games. Well, it’s Winnipeg – what can you say?

지난 주에 여자 프로 골프 대회 LPGA가 위니펙에서 열렸다. 집에서 꽤 가까운 거리여서 마지막 날에 갔다. 입장료도 30불로 저렴한 편이라고 생각했다.

프로들의 경기를 보니 왜 그들을 프로라고 부르는지 알 것 같다. 넘사벽이라고 밖에. 여러 선수들을 봤지만 박세리와 신지애가 개인적으로는 최고였다.

박세리는 지금도 그렇지만 전설적인 골퍼였다. 한국인이 어려울 때 전 국민에게 희망과 즐거움을 준 골퍼였다. 이번에는 예전 만큼 많은 관중을 몰고 다니지는 않았지만.

공을 칠 때 박수를 크게 쳐줬더니 듣고는 누군가 하고 돌아 봤다, 🙂

다른 한국 선수들에게도 응원을 해 줬다.

마지막 팀은 미셀이라고 하는 위성미하고 신지애였다. 둘 다 최고였지만 위성미가 우승을 했다.

그들이 마지막 코스에 들어올 때 모든 사람들이 기립 박수를 했다. 나도 신지애 이름을 크게 외쳤고 날 봤다. ^^

정말 대단한 경기였다. 공이 날아가는 게 마치 총알 같았다. 와~ 이 말 밖엔 안 나온다.

현재 LPGA 홈페이지에서는 신지애가 상금 총액 $1,400,296.00로 랭킹 1위라고 나온다.

유일한 불만은 모기였다. 선수들이 경기에 집중을 하지 못했다. 뭐 위니펙이니까. -_-

1 Comment »

  1. I too am from Winnipeg and could have had a couple of free passes from the Winnipeg Free Press but unfortunately I was working during the week and away at the lake on the weekend so I had to turn them down. It would have been something to see. Professional golf is definitely an elevated level from us weekend hackers. Glad you enjoyed watching the LPGA.

    Comment by brianwawryk — Thursday, 2 September 2010 @ 15:53 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

