Hannah and Je together

Tuesday, 22 September 2009

Just blow mosquitoes

It is often said that mosquito is the provincial bird of Manitoba. And there are so many mosquitos in Manitoba. I am not going to say how bad and many they are.

Anyway, whenever I found one sucking on me, I smash it right away. But I realised (probably) none of Canadians does that. They just blow it away.

I was curious why. Is it because they spare even mosquitoes as part of the nature? If not, why?

One day seeing me smashing a mosquito on my arm, one of my friend told me not to do that. I of course asked why. He said if I smash one, the body fluids of it or the other’s blood sucked by it would come out on me, and that could spread a disease.

The reason was turned into a pure selfish one – and very reasonable and rational one.

마니토바 주의 새는 모기라고 사람들이 우스개 소리로 하는데, 정말 많다. 얼마나 많은지 얼마나 심한지는 말하지 않겠지만.

어째든, 나는 모기가 내 피를 빠는 걸 보면 바로 쳐 죽이는데, 캐나다 사람들은 그렇지 않고 그냥 바람 불어 날려버리는 걸 발견했다.

그게 참 궁금했다. 모기도 자연의 일부라 아끼는 건가? 아니라면 왜?

하루는 내가 모기를 쳐 죽이는 걸 보고는 친구가 그러지 말라고 했다. 그래서 왜냐고 물었더니, 내가 모기를 쳐 죽이면, 모기의 체액이나 모기가 빨았던 다른 사람의 피가 내게 묻게 되고 그려면 병이 옮을 수도 있다는 것이었다.

쳇 순전히 이기적인 이유였구만. 뭐 합리적이긴 하네.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

