Hannah and Je together

Saturday, 12 September 2009

Pidgin always says “Waiting for Network Connection”

I use Pidgin on Ubuntu box for primary messenger, and it is very important to me because I have to chat with someone in Korea.

And a few days ago, suddenly it began to spit the message of “Waiting for Network Connection” and it did not show any contacts!

I tried again and again for several days, and the problem just stayed. I changed many network settings and pidgin preferences but nothing was helpful.

Today, I came to stop the network Manager service:

sudo /etc/init.d/networkManager stop

and I found the pidgin worked again!

So I just uninstalled the package.

한국에 있는 분과 채팅을 꼭 해야 하기 때문에 메신저가 필요한데, 우분투에서 피진이란 걸 쓴다.

근데 몇일 전부터 갑자기 네트웍 연결을 기다린다는 말이 나오고 연락처가 하나도 표시가 되지 않았다.

몇일을 기다리며 여러 시도를 해봤지만 문제는 여전. 네트웍 설정도 바꿔보고, 프로그램 옵션들도 바꿔봤지만 소용이 없다.

오늘, 어쩌다가 네트웍 매니저란 서비스를 중단시켜 봤다.

sudo /etc/init.d/networkManager stop

어, 그런데 피진이 잘 된다!

그래서 내친김에 해당 패키지를 아예 삭제해 버렸다.

1 Comment »

  1. Good solution. But I cant delete network-manager because I am using it when I connect wifi. But when I am using 3g modem it really helps.

    Comment by POMATu — Saturday, 17 July 2010 @ 7:15 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

