Hannah and Je together

Monday, 9 March 2009

Exam translation

In Canada, some licence exams require certain level of English and some doesn’t. Registered nurse exam requires but iCar does not. For the applicants of iCar whose English is not good, he can bring his own translator (Wow).

A few weeks ago, I met a person who wanted me to be his translator for his iCar written test. Just translating is not bad, so I was willing.

But when I met him, he handed me a very thick book and told me to study the book! I asked why but he did not answer me clearly but I could understand what he really wanted. He wanted me to study the book and solve the questions of the exam. 😦

Because he did not answer me clearly, I also refused with vague words.

캐나다에서 일부 시험은 일정 수준의 영어를 요구하고 일부는 그렇지 않다. 예를 들어 간호사 시험은 영어 성적이 필요하지만, iCar (자동차 정비 및 판금 도색 관련 자격증)같은 경우는 필요하지 않다. 영어를 잘 못하는 iCar 응시자는 통역을 대동할 수 있다 (와~).

몇주 전에 한 사람을 만났는데, iCar 시험보는 데 통역으로 날 쓰고 싶어했다. 통역이라면 뭐 나쁘지 않아서 하려 했다.

그런데, 막상 만나자, 내게 두꺼운 책을 건네며, 공부해 오라는 것이 아닌가! 왜냐고 물어도 명확하게는 대답을 하지 않고 말을 돌리는데, 그의 의도를 알겠다. 내가 공부를 해서, 시험을 대신 봐 주길 바라는 것이었다. -_-;;

그가 내게 명확히 얘기를 하지 않았기 때문에 나도 말을 돌려서 거절했다.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

