Hannah and Je together

Saturday, 16 August 2008

[영어산책]No more MB

The province where I am living now is Manitoba and its abbreviation is MB. And recently I stopped using the abbreviation because the name of Korean president is Myoung-Bak and people use MB (mostly 2 MB) to indicate him. I dislike him. I do not want Manitoba to be mistaken as Myoung-Bak.

내가 살고 있는 주의 이름이 마니토바(Manitoba)로 줄여서 MB라고 쓴다. 그런데 이게, 이메가랑 비슷하게 보여서 더이상 MB라고 쓰지 않기로 했다.

영어랑 관계된 건 아니지만(전혀 없다고도 볼 순 없으니 영어산책으로 집어 넣었음), 캐나다 주의 이름과 약자를 정리해 보겠다 (순서는 한국과 가까운  서쪽부터, 주는 남쪽에 있고, 준주는 북쪽에 있다):

주(Province): 주 이름 – 약자 – 주도

  • British Columbia – BC – Victoria
  • Alberta – AB – Edmonton
  • Saskatchewan – SK – Regina
  • Manitoba – MB (하필이면) – Winnipeg
  • Ontario – ON – Toronto
  • Québec – QC – Quebec City
  • New Brunswick – NB – Fredericton
  • Prince Edward Island – PE – Charlottetown
  • Nova Scotia – NS – Halifax
  • Newfoundland and Labrador – NL – St. John’s

준주(Territory): 준주 이름 – 약자 – 준주도

  • Yukon – YT – Whitehorse
  • Northwest Territories – NT – Yellowknife
  • Nunavut – NU – Iqaluit

미국도 하고 싶지만, 주가 50개나 돼서… -_-;;


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: