Hannah and Je together

Wednesday, 6 August 2008

Phone line and DSL

I am using MTS home phone and internet. MTS internet is a kind of DSL (probably ADSL) which is connected to and use phone jack and line.

One week before my moving day, I called MTS that I would move into new place.

In the morning (probably 9am) of my movign day, first of August, I picked up the phone but I did not hear the tone sound which means my phone line is not working and they already moved the service to my new place.

And I turned on my laptop to find the internet was working well. I found that xDSL uses phone line but has nothing to do with the phone service itself. If the physical phone line is alright, the xDSL works. This finding is quite interesting to me because I thought the two services are connected each other.

MTS 전화와 인터넷을 사용하는데, 인터넷은 DSL 종류로 (아마 ADSL인 듯) 전화 잭과 선에 연결되어 있다.

이사하기 일주일 전에, MTS에 전화를 걸어 이사 신고를 했다 (MTS 전화번호는 2255-687로 이를 전화기 숫자에 써 있는 알파벳으로 바꾸면 CALL-MTS가 되어 굉장히 외우기 쉽다).

드뎌 이사하는 날 아침 9시. 전화를 하려고 수화기를 집었는데, 신호음이 없다. -_-;; 벌써 전화 서비스를 새 아파트로 옮긴 모양이다.  아뭏든 전화는 작동하지 않았다.

그리고 노트북을 켰는데, 인터넷이 잘 된다. O.o DSL 은 전화선을 사용하지만 전화 서비스 자체와는 관계가 없단 걸 새로 알았다. 물리적인 전화선 자체가 문제 없다면, DSL은 작동을 한다. 이번 발견은 꽤 흥미롭다. 여지껏 난 두 서비스가 상관이 있다고 생각했었다.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

