Hannah and Je together

Monday, 16 June 2008

Google earth on GNU/Linux

I did not know that Google earth is provided on GNU/Linux also. I downloaded and installed Google earth. The installer file name was GoogleEarthLinux.bin.

$ sudo sh GoogleEarthLinux.bin

And there was an graphical installer which I followed the steps. At the end of installation, it asked me for running the programming after the installation. And I clicked yes.

Wow! It was good. Beautiful. Later, I tried to start the google  earth again by double clicking the icon. It started but there was no globe and no menu items were enabled. I had no idea why. I even reinstalled it several times again.

Later, I found the problem. The configuration files of Google Earth under the home directory (/home/$USER) has root as their owner and file modes were -wr——- which allows only the owner to read and write the file.

I changed the owner to my ID and the google earth worked fine. 🙂

That was because the installed was run as root but what I do not understand is that if the user was root, it must make the configure files under its home directory which is /root not in mine.

Anyway I am so happy with the google earth on GNU/Linux.

GNU/리눅스에 구글어스를 깔았다. 다운받은 다음에 터미널에서

$ sudo sh GoogleEarthLinux.bin

을 했다. 설치 끝날 때 쯤에 설치 후 실행할 거냐고 물어봐서 그러겠다고 했다. 오오 실행된다. 기분 조타~~ 🙂

나중에 구글 어스를 다시 실행하려 했는데, 실행은 되는데, 화면에 지구가 나오질 않는다. 메뉴들도 모두 비활성화되어 있다. 이유를 알 수 없어서 몇 번 재설치를 했는데도 마찬가지다. 최초 실행은 되기 때문에 별다른 문제는 없을 거라고 생각되었다.

나중에 보니, 홈 디렉토리에 있는 구글 설정 파일의 소유자가 모두 root로 되어 있는 것이었다. 게다가 파일 권한이 루트 외에는 읽지도 쓰지도 못하게 되어 있었다. 파일  소유자를 모두 내 껄로 바꿔주니 제대로 실행이 되었다.

설치할 때 관리자 모드를 사용해서 그런 거 같은데, 이상한 건, 루트면 지 디렉토리인 /root에 설정 파일을 만들 것이지 왜 내 자리에 만드냐는 것이다.

어째든, 구글 어스는 잘 실행이 되고 난 행복해염~ 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

