Hannah and Je together

Monday, 28 January 2008

I became a liar

Filed under: Lang:English,Subj:GNU/Computer,Subj:Life — Jemyoung Leigh @ 17:10
Tags: , ,

A few days ago, I had a talk with several Koreans, and one of them said,

I saw a movie a few days ago named Brazil made in 1985. In the movie an Innocent man is executed to die by the mistake in operation of the computer. It predicted the problem of computerised society in future, and it also predicted the PC when there was no PC. You know, there was nothing like PC in 1985.

And everyone said, “No, there was no PC in 1985.” What? No PC in 1985? I said yes. I said to them,

The Apple II which was before IBM PC came out to the world in late 1970s, and sold many. I was grade 4 in 1985 and there was a Computer Room in my school and I got computer lesson an hour every week. You know, 1985 is only one year before the 86 Asian Game! And even IBM PC XT came out in early 1980.

The response of them was great.

Hey, my first daughter was born in 1985! And There was no computer in the year of my daughter’s birth. You should not say something was which was NOT! Do not lie, do not deceive us because you know more about computer than we do! Nothing is nothing!

And everyone agreed, and I just simply became a liar. Wow, it is really simple and easy to make a one liar by many. I really did not lie! 😦 I used from Apple II and MSX…

But what made me silent was another man’s saying:

And in the early days of computer, they did not programme like these days. They used machine language like FORTRAN.

FORTRAN…. Ma… Machine.language… 😦 I felt instinctively only the silence was best, and I kept silence since then.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

